T Nation

Kurt's Training Log

This is my first attempt at starting a training log. After following this site for years and learning a lot I figured it would be time to give back. While I’ve maintained a training journal for quite some time, never had I made the contents available for public scrutiny. It is my goal to use this as a training log and hopefully pass along some information I’ve picked up over the years to anyone following, while also forcing personal accountability to training compliance.

Today marked the first complete month of weight training done entirely in my newly built home gym. A twice-occurring hamstring injury limited lower body work but all upper body work was completed. Hopefully it’s good to go and I’ll be able to create a log of some value here.

I will be posting my training and diet program and notes to accompany each workout in hopes that I’ll be able to pick up some insight and constructive criticism. I’m also really hoping that people reading can pick up some information from it and apply it to their own training.

Enjoy,
Kurt

To create a proper benchmark for accurately tracking progress, baselines must be established. Although I have extensive data tracking and graphing 38 different lifts and comparing the ratios between them in the 1,3,5 and 10 rep max ranges I’m going to focus on a select few variables for the next three weeks before reevaluating. Because all my workouts are based on percentages the obvious big three are the one rep maxes for back squat, deadlift and bench press.

I’ll throw in close grip supinated chinups for an upper body pull and would like to include an overhead press but osteopath advice regarding bursitis will prevent this for the short term. I’ll continue to track all my other lifts but won’t bore anyone with the details.