Kung Fu at Wei Wu Si, Dali, Yunnan, China

Has anyone done this or training in Shaolin?

I started lifting for strength 5 months ago (I’m 22 now and weigh about 165lb at 5"10)

I walk alot but do no specific intense cardio training.

Any training recommendations? Any info on kung fu training?

I read about how the “shaolin” brand become pretty much a tourist fad over the years. There are many genuine “temples” over that area, where slightly obese western kung fu fans face basically an eastern, old school, volume-rich martial arts training.

Chances are, if you’ll go and train for a month or two, you’ll likely drop to 140. But on the other side, your “reverse healthy panda” kick will get to new levels.

A lot of guys who were there for a longer period, like half a year, retold that your body needs at least a month to adapt to hours of continuous training, working out with cramps and soreness and getting over the initial diarrhoea.

I think today we got better options. Fly to Thailand for some Muay Thai, for instance.

Yeah, I think you’re right about the big drop in weight but I think this kind of training will add a new level to my flexibility, endurance and discipline that can be used to rebuild my strength and size to new heights.

If I rapidly lose weight but I’m doing what is effectively 5 hours of HIIT a day will it be incredibly difficult to build that back once I start eating normally and get back into strength training?

I just spent 10 days in thailand, Muay Thai is gross. I like the flips and graceful movements of kung fu. Head shots, elbows and knees in Muay thai are just bad.

[quote]Tryin2BRipd wrote:
I just spent 10 days in thailand, Muay Thai is gross. I like the flips and graceful movements of kung fu. Head shots, elbows and knees in Muay thai are just bad.[/quote]

but effective

Unfortunately 95% Kung Fu is not genuine.