Kroc Rows

Good Day All

I have been training for a couple of years, but only recently started training properly by taking in the correct advice from good people (esp on T Nation).

I want to ask about Kroc Rows.
I understand the concept of picking the heaviest weight you can find and then rowing, but what happens if your max (at least mine at this point) is a 110 lbs dumbbell row.
How do I then take the 143 lb dumbbell (the biggest in my gym) and row (for Kroc Rows) - I can’t row that dumbbell right now, maybe in a few months with good progression, but how then do Kroc Rows work in this instance.

Do I just pick it and row and do my best and might end up not rowing the weight at all?
Do I use my bodyweight to row it considering I’m only a 190 lb?

Any help because I like rowing and would want to try another variation.

Regards

You use the heaviest weight you can handle. Seriously, isn’t that just common sense? Wendler can easily deadlift 600, what makes you think you should be using the same dumbbell weight he uses?

[quote]Yude wrote:
I want to ask about Kroc Rows.
I understand the concept of picking the heaviest weight you can find and then rowing[/quote]
… for high reps. 20 or more. This is crucial and a huge part of what makes “Kroc rows” effective.

You’re currently using a 110 dumbbell for rows, but for how many reps? And are you using this weight for “Kroc rows” or for more strict form dumbbell rows?

If you can’t row it for one, then you can’t row it. Period.

This is exactly why I’m not a fan of beginners, or generally less-experienced lifters, trying to do Kroc rows. You should stick with “normal” dumbbell rows, get strong on those (work up to using heavy weight for moderate to high reps with controlled form), and maybe consider “Kroc Rows” later on down the road.

At what point should you up the weight after you get X amount of reps with a DB? 25? 35? 50 reps?

[quote]chobbs wrote: