T Nation

Knees and Squats

Newbie here trying to incorporate squats into my routine. I am experiencing right knee pain two days after squats and it causes me to “lay off” another two days. Not much weight as I am just learning.

Could it be a technique issue? What do you think?

Who is teaching you to squat? A bodybuilder, powerlifter, Olympic lifter or a regular gym rat? The styles can vary greatly and so can the pain spots if done incorrectly. Without having seen you squat I would just guess that maybe you are doing high-bar squats. This is where the bar is sitting way up on the traps just below your head. When most people do this and then squat down (by the way, go all the way down) the knees end up going over and extending past the feet. This will bring on knee pain. When you are in the hole (bottom position of the squat) your knees should not be past your toes.

Begin the squat by putting the bar lower on your back and sticking your butt out first before you begin to descend. Keep an arched back with your head up and eyes fixed on a point in front of you. You want to go down and sit back. Box squats are great for beginners to learn this approach. Also, don’t squat in front of mirrors. I urge you to seek out someone that knows what they are doing to check your form. This is an ongoing thing so you might as well get used to it if you want to squat correctly and have zero to minimal injuries.

Do you have a history of knee pain?

How much is “not much weight”? I started out with an empty bar.

I have been trying to do squats like the back squat shown here: http://www.uwlax.edu/strengthcenter/videos/exercisevideos/High%20Bar%20Back%20Squat.mpg

I cannot go as far down but am working on my flexability. I have not had knee problems in the past. I’m pretty sure it’s my technique do to a lack of flexability that is causing my pain.

70lbs is what I am currently working with.

[quote]Weezer wrote: