Knee Problems

When I’m on a bench and I flex and extend my knees while covering them with a hand - well on my left knee I can feel a little bit of popping and crackling, but hardly anything major, but on my right knee - well, damn if it doesn’t feel like a sack of marbles in there - all sorts of grinding and popping.

Now it doesn’t hurt at all…yet…but if this is symptomatic of something wrong in there I’d like to know now - I’ve never been injured in my 8+ years of training, but I don’t want to be one of those guys 5 years from now who can’t squat anymore because of chronic knee problems, all because he didn’t get his knee fixed years earlier…so even though there’s no pain associated with the grinding I feel, anyone have any idea what’s going on? Is it possible it’s the start of something bad? Any and all replies welcome

I’ve got the same problems with my left knee-sounds like rice krispies in there. Started acting up after I started riding the security bike for a securuty cao. I work for this summer.

Do a search for “crepitus” and read up.

I’d guess it’s either articular cartilage damage and/or your patella going slightly off track. in any case, I’d see an OS who works with athletes and get it checked out.

In the short term, for relief you can stretch your rectus femoris and quads along with your Psoas and other hip flexors. There’s an ‘Iron Dog’ column that outlines a good progressive strecthing program for those areas.

You may need soft tissue work to free up a quad that isn’t firing, or you could need some recruitment work for certain muscles that aren’t firing properly on your ‘hurt’ leg.

Also sounds like you have a strength imbalance between your legs. Try some of Ian King’s Quad dominant unilateral exercises to find out if this is the case and use them to correct the imbalance. You’ll find that stuff in the 12 week programs that Ian wrote for lower body.