T Nation

Knee Problems After Squats/Deads

I'm pretty new to training. I've only been squatting and deadlifting for a couple of months, worked up to 240 (my body weight) in the squat, and 315 on the pull. So that's definitely not where I want to be. I've checked out a lot of videos on form, and read in Mark Rippetoe's starting strength. Squatting and deadlifting has been of the 5x5 form.

The two things I'm aware of with my form is:
- Butt tucking on the squats
- Feet not rotated enough outwards

If I try really hard to correct these, or in other words, if I squat while really trying to keep the lumbar spine straight, and drive out my knees, I get a shearing sensation on the outside of the knee. This even happens without any load (when lying on my back). And even then the lumbar spine is not straight - I can't seem to straighten it completely. I don't feel any stretch, just the shearing.

Knees have begun to pop a lot, the day after a squat session, they can hurt a little when tension is put on them while they're bent, as when standing up from a couch.

I'm 22 6'5", and have not been involved in much sports, just some free time biking.

Hope I got all the relevant stuff in there! My question is, why are my knees getting worse, even under such a light load? Will they never be able to adapt to that load?

I also experienced similar knee pain from working out with tight/sore leg muscles from competitive soccer matches. Was doing the Stronglifts 5x5 program squatting upwards of 118kg 3 times a week, and I think the soreness from the soccer games caused me to have bad form for a session or two, causing tight pain in my right knee.