T Nation

Knee Pain

Need some help fellas.
Just turned 35.
6'2, 265
I have been lifting really hard for the last 6 months and making some huge gains. During this time I have lost 25 pounds of fat. I'm shooting for 250. I have been lifting all my life. I'm a newbie to the site (outstanding by the way) but I'm not a newbie when it comes to pushing iron. My current work out:
Day 1: Chest, 5 different exercises, 5 sets, pyramids heavy.
30 minutes cardio, abs
Day 2: Bis and Tris, 5 different exercises, 5 sets, pyramids heavy.
30 minutes cardio, abs
Day 3: Shoulders, 5 different exercises, 5 sets, pyramids heavy.
Bay 4: Back, 5 different exercises, 5 sets, pyramids heavy.
30 minutes cardio, abs
Day 5: Rest day for upper body.
30 minutes cardio, abs.
Day 6: Repeat cycle.
I do cardio on a precorp elliptical and I do five sets of abs everyday, but they are different exercises for every day.
The problem is I have had 2 knee surgerys, both ACL tears on the same knee. The days of heavy leg exercises are over for me and I have accepted that. This is the reason that I cardio train on the elliptical, because there is less strain on my knees. You can see from the above workout that I only weight train with my uppper body only.
Any sugguestions with exercises that I could slowly work into without getting really heavy, and that would reduce stress on the knee? I have no knee pain right now.
I have asked doctors and others and had viewed different sites with no luck really other than don't do it.
From reading some of the posts and replys on this site: you guys really know the complex science of buidling muscle and what it takes to get there. Be easy on the everyday new teenager with the stupid questions, they will only learn from their own experiences.
Any helped will work and thanks for your time.
One hell of a site with TONS of info. I have been viewing the site everyday since I joined. I only wished I would have come across this earlier.
PUSH IRON HEAVY!!!
JW