Knee Pain with Squats Over 225

Hey guys, I’m Will, I’ve been training seriously (Stronglifts 5x5) for four months now, after kind of dicking around with isolation exercises, BB splits etc before.

I’m about 195 lbs, 6 foot and could probably stand to lose a little body fat.

Anyway, I’ve been experiencing some knee pain in squats once I try to push them over 225 lbs. It seems like my knees are tracking correctly (keeping them out), but I have noticed I tend to lean forward quite a lot. Keep in mind these are low bar, powerlifting type squats. Would this lead to knee pain? Any advice on how to keep from leaning forward so much?

Keep your chest up, and squeeze your shoulder blades together as hard as you can. Bringing your hands as close together as possible also helps.

It sounds like you’re just using too much weight. Back off until you can handle it.

Are you breaking at the knees or the hips? The motion should be like sitting down in a chair, so the hips should break first. A good remedy is box squatting.

[quote]vali wrote:
Hey guys, I’m Will, I’ve been training seriously (Stronglifts 5x5) for four months now, after kind of dicking around with isolation exercises, BB splits etc before.

Anyway, I’ve been experiencing some knee pain in squats once I try to push them over 225 lbs. It seems like my knees are tracking correctly (keeping them out), but I have noticed I tend to lean forward quite a lot. Keep in mind these are low bar, powerlifting type squats. Would this lead to knee pain? Any advice on how to keep from leaning forward so much?[/quote]

I feel obligated to reply. Don’t go deep. Don’t go below 90%. Yes, going deep is going to give you a greater range of motion and give you the best results BUT if you are having knee problems FORGET IT! You are either: a) damaging the meniscus tissue which may tear and cannot be fixed with surgery, or b) your patella(kneecap) is under too much strain.