Knee Pain While Squatting

Hey guys, new to the forums here. I am hoping to get some real help with my squats.

I am not new to lifting weights, but I am new to squats. Been a long time since I have been under the bar, and previously, didn’t do much let work because I was younger and dumber.

However, I am changing that. A few weeks ago I joined a local gym, and started doing low bar squats. I have watched quite a few videos, a lot of rippetoes videos on how to correctly squat but I keep having knee pain and can not figure out why.

This gym has ‘trainers’, but I don’t trust them after watching their lack of enthusiasm, and on many accounts sit there and watch there clients conduct an exercise with blatantly poor form/cheating.

Last week,the outside and top of my right knee hurt, today the top of my left knee hurts. I watch my knees in the mirror and they do not come inward and I dont detect much if any movement at all. I conciously try to keep them inline with my toes. However, a day like today I didn’t even get past my warm up with the bar because of the pain and not wanting to continue and seriously hurt myself. Any suggestions?

If I need to post a video of me doing squats with a bar, I can do that at home tonight.

I am 28, 6’0, 235lbs.

Post a video. Knee pain can be the result of a lot of reasons. This can range from exercise form, tight quads, etc.

Ok I’ll get a video up tonight

I’m sure there’s 50 issues with my form, but thats why I am here.

Watching that video myself, I can already tell my knees are doing something they shouldn’t, not sure exactly what it is, but doesn’t look right to me.