T Nation

Knee Pain from High Bar Squats?

Hey,
Maybe someone has some input on this.

Recently I started lifting again after taking a two month break from it (I still worked out, dabbled with calisthenics, did sports etc). I picked a 5x5 template to get back to my old numbers ASAP (the old stronglifts one, with dips and chins as assistance). Two weeks in, my right knee started cracking on the descent when I squatted (high bar, medium stance, slightly below parallel, olympic shoes).

Right now I’m at 175 for 5x5 with a 5 pound increase each workout and there’s a numb pain right underneath my right knee cap. I’m a bit worried, to say the least, especially since the weight I comparatively light and I’m still in my twenties - I’m somewhat afraid of ending up with a bum knee before the big 30.

Any thoughts?

do you do any glute activation in your warm up? Any side clams? 90% of the time knee pain is your knee collapsing in a little so if you’re not doing side clams then try adding those to your warm up.

my other guess would be something wrong with your form. Are you breaking at the hips?

I’m breaking at the hip. A minor knee break may have sneaked in since I read that Bret Contreras article recently… I need to check this. All I do to warm up right now is five minutes on the bike, jumps, goblet squats and then plenty of warm up sets. Do you think bridges and side crabs could solve the issue?

It depends on the specific cause of your knee pain. Over an Internet forum with no picture or video to critique it’s pretty tough to diagnose what form breakdowns might be causing you pain.

Your knee pain could be:

• the result of tight adductors which are pulling your knees out of alignment
    -the result of your arches collapsing/weak Tibialis Posterior or Peroneals
    -the result of tight ankles/Soleus muscles which are pulling your heels too far off the ground and this putting your weight on the balls of your feet rather than the mid foot or heels