T Nation

Knee Pain During Leg Day

In the past 2 months my left knee has been experiencing pain. The pain is below the knee cap as seen in the picture attached. Not only is it swollen in this area but it is sore to the touch and if I happen to bump into something in this area its a sharp shooting pain. It goes away until my next leg session. My knee does not hurt during regular back squats or leg extensions. Leg presses and hack squats really hurt the knee. I am hesitant to go to a doctor because i have a feeling they will tell me not to lift anymore and that is not an option. Just wondering if anyone had something similar or had any idea as to why this might be happening/diagnosis so i can develop a strategy to correct this. This a recent problem and have no history of knee pain/injuries and I have been training consistently for 3 years with no knee pain.

Thanks in advance.

Man, this sounds weird.

What other leg movements do you do? Any lunging?

How about other activities? Running?

If you can give any more information it might help.

I will say though, those leg extensions aren't doing your knees any favor. And if that's all your leg work some more glute and hamstring work would definitely help bring you some balance. You have a lot of quad work going on right now.

Sorry I should have been more clear. The order of my leg movements switch depending on how I feel. I always do squats/front hack squat, leg press, hack squat, leg extensions. I dont do any lunging but have thought about adding it recently (to see if its a pain free movement). My hamstring and glutes are trained on a separate day. I dont do any other activites (running, sports, etc.) From what ive been reading it sounds like pateller tendonitis but im not sure. I hope its one of those things i just focus on pain free foot positioning and train until it goes away...