Knee Pain Caused By Calf

Looking to for an explanation. I had some bad knee pain when squatting, close stance and drop into the hole pretty quick. Tried rolling everything to get rid of it and recently rolled my calf with a ball a few days in a row. Day to day pain is pretty much gone. Trying to just understand what was the cause here. Pain was in the patellar tendon and lasted about 4-5 months some days slight other days a lot of pain.

Here?

I’ve looked at diagrams. What is pulling on what? I’m just not really seeing it

I’m not an expert but some research gives a few reasons as to what can cause this, mainly it’s caused by repeated stress. How often do you squat? I also think dropping into the hole quickly isn’t going to be very favorable.
Other factors are:

• running and jumping
  • tight muscles (quads and hamstrings)
  • muscular imbalances
1 Like

Tight calves limit your ankle motion. Your shin bones can’t “lean forward” towards your toes. Your knees have to move different to make up for the limited ankle mobility and this puts lots of stress on your patellas.

I was squatting almost every day. I have never had issues with it. Kind of came out of no where but. I’ve been lifting for about 14 years. I think @FlatsFarmer said seems like what may have been the problem. Trying to keep progressing and it put my squats out for almost 5 months.

2 Likes

I can’t disagree with anything @FlatsFarmer says, he’s a wealth of knowledge :slightly_smiling_face:
I will say though,

This can absolutely cause minor inflammation to become chronic inflammation - or tendonitis. Either way, it sounds like getting some good flexibility all around can do wonders!
I hope it all works out

2 Likes

I learned it all from Knees Over Toes Guy on ewe-tube.

This dude has me doing tibia raises before squats to get that ankle dorsiflexion warmed up and moving smooth.

1 Like