Knee Cave In During Squatting

Hey everyone I just started training for strength about 9 months ago and I noticed my knee caves in Whenever I come out of the hole. I squat fairly wide (just outside my shoulders) and been told it’s because my glutes/hips are weak what exercises should I do?

You can use the abduction machine (ab not ad), but if you can do some lighter squats with a slightly closer stance and put a thick band around your thighs just above the knee that forces you to push against it and drive your knees outward, it can reinforce that motion.

This also has to do with how much you’re squatting, as a lot of people who squat heavy have a noticeable but quick knee cave during heavy squats, but I’ll assume you’re not a genetic outlier.

Post vids of this happening for best advice.

For some people a bit of knee cave isn’t bad because they go from a varus position to neutral so like not going excessive valgus/ knee caving.

For some people cuing, targeted warm up and hip + foot muscular activation and practicing will resolve the issue.

For some people targeted hip strengthening work may be required but I’d try cuing, activation and technique work stuff first. Could also be related to your foot stability e.g. if ur feet tend to roll inwards ur knees can follow.

You’ll have to do some self assessment and see what seems to fit ur issue

Vids for reference:

https://www.instagram.com/p/B_MZNY2AC6o/?igshid=1f3ortwxgkjbf

3 Likes

The correct term is Knee-bola

2 Likes

Kneebola CAVID-19

6 Likes