T Nation

Kickboxing Muscle

Hi, newbie here and making my first post so any and all advice welcome. I have been doing karate for a few years now and have moved on to mixed martial arts. The most recent venture has been into Muai Thai kickboxing. Now I realize that I will have to add some muscle for power and some muscle for speed. The question is what type of muscle is best for absorbing damage? I can expect to take a severe beating in the form of kicks, punches, and knees to the chest and legs. So what stands up the best? Am I looking for deep toned muscle or big muscle for more surface area to absorb? I train with a guy who ways 350+ lbs who takes a shot to the gut like you wouldn't believe but... well that?s not the road I am looking to take :stuck_out_tongue: So any suggestions as to what muscle type I am looking for or exercises I can do are welcome.

Also, I have to wrestle this big guy. Is it possible to develop explosive power combined with endurance to shrimp and bridge this guy? Can I do both or will I have to pick? Thanks for reading

Well I know what a big muscle looks like, not sure what a deep toned muscle is supposed to look like though?

Are you perhaps asking whether you should build muscles that are small but hard or big but soft? If so then I believe the answer is that you dont have to choose. Big (body builder/power lifter) muscle is just as hard as that found on small endurance athlete trained muscle. I have big muscles myself and they are quite hard. Fat levels may give the illusion of one type of muscle being harder than the other (and perhaps water content) but it really is a myth that the endurance athletes muscle is somehow harder than the strong mans muscle.