Kettlebells w/o Hindering Strength

I have been doing some studying, but just need some extra hints/opinions.

For various reasons, I’m adding two 20-45 min kettlebell sessions/week in my training after couple of months. I have used them a lot to support my MA-training some years back before I started lifting. I really like them and feel they improved my condition and core/shoulder/hip strength/stability. So, used with heavy barbell movements, they would form a great program.

But I’m doing this kind of stupid unofficial competition with my friends and should hit approx. 470 DL, 405 SQ, 300 BP, 225 P. Clean at the end of this year. I have about 40-70 lb to go depending on the movement. So the KB should be added without taking away the strength development.

Not sure what template/program will I use. My weightlifter friends says I could just do Hatch-routine to squat and bench with added cleans and without the extra 4x5 work for fs etc. Thought hey can handle much more volume than me (I’m currently working with this with using simple volume-progression until summer). I have also 5/3/1-split in my mind with added KB work. These things have now come to my mind:

• I would do strength training 3 times and KB 2 times/week.
  • The KB would be done always after the strength workout, not on the off-days.
  • There would be NONE assistance done in the gym. KB workouts would be used as “finishers” (or whatever you could call them).
  • I may prioritize two lifts (ex. squat/bench), while just maintaining the other two (ex. clean and DL) for the period I would do the KB training twice a week (about 3 months period)

So, not asking any miracles nor ready programs, just opinions and advises.

PS. Just for the note - I tried doing one KB session per week last winter for 2 months, but the strength program I used weren’t ideal for this and doing KB only once/week did not have the effects I was hoping for.