T Nation

Kettlebells for Building Muscle

Hello all, I’m brand new to the T-Nation forums! I’ve been an avid reader of numerous posts for a fair few years, I’ve only just decided to start giving my input and thoughts on here, please bare with me as I’m still getting used to the whole page.

About me, I’m 24 years old, 5ft 8 around 210 lbs with a miserable 20% body fat (I’m out of shape since I’ve not trained for 8 weeks or so with an injury) I’ve been an avid weightlifter since the age of 15 in my dads gym, I’ve competed in both bodybuilding (1st ever show) and powerlifting for GPC multiple times since 16 or so and have a good grasp on training philosophy, methods and nutrition. (Well I used to until I moved into my new house lol! Too many things going on and the wedding) , i work full time in a warehouse and it’s fairly taxing all day on my feet. The past few months I have been at home with a injured pec from powerlifting, it’s finally healed slightly and I’m returning to work and training again.

However my issues are; I’ve completely lost interest in powerlifting , bodybuilding it feels tiresome and boring. (Here me out) and my shoulder/pec is buggered.

I love the sense of a challenge, and I love a workout that gets my heart pumping and leaving me drained yet the sense of accomplishment. Which I just seemed to have lost with the above mentioned.

So I’ve recently been exploring into and training with kettlebells, reading Pavel Tsatsoulines books, And learning new ways to train with a injured pec keeping me entertained and challenged.

My post is really to get advice on my program I’ve developed for bodybuilding using kettlebells! Here it goes…

A) The Swing 3x20
B) Strict Military Press 3x12
C) Floor Pullovers 3x15
D) Wrestlers Bridge Press 3x12
E) Bent over Row 3x15
F) Stiff legged Deadlift 3x12
G) Zercher Squat 3x15
H) Turkish Getups 3x5 per arm

My reasonings for this, I wanted the program to have;

• Hip hinge (the swing and SLDL)

• Squat (Zercher Squat)