T Nation

Kettlebells and More!

I like the idea of posting my log for the world to see as an increased measure of accountability (even if no one reads it).

About me: I am a resident physician and have been involved with martial arts/fitness over 10 yrs. I felt I was really slacking with my fitness during medical school and came across kettle bells at a jiu jitsu school I was visiting. I realized really quickly that circuit training with kettlebells and bodyweight calisthenics was the most efficient way to get/stay fit as all i needed was a single kettlebell and 5 square feet of space to get a good strength/cardio workout in about 15mins, I continued to chase the kettlebell thing since and have made significant gains with them (and collected several more than "just one"). More recently as my schedule has relaxed a bit more and I have grown to realize that while kettle bell circuit training might be most efficient it is not most effective and I have started to re-incorporate traditional strength training with barbells and dumbbells. I have been feeling stronger and more energetic as I have backed off from what was probably overtraining with the metabolic workouts. At the end of the day its all about finding the balance.

Goals: Athletic performance primarily for jiujitsu and judo, longevity, feeling awesome.

Here are some pics of my home gym which kind of fit along with Dan John's article on home gyms.

10/23/14:
AM: 5x5 x120lb barbell shoulder press. Last rep or two of the last set or two were push presses.

PM: Judo: Drilled a drop tai otoshi combo and some randori; training felt pretty awesome, more of a hammer day than a nail day…

10/24/14
AM: 2x5x170lb barbell hack squats. 2x20x53lb ATG goblet squats
PM: Unplanned long cycle workout:
1x7x double 53lbs long cycle (clean and jerk)
2x5x double 53lbs long cycle
3x8x double 44lbs long cycle
3x10x double 35 lbs long cycle
1x10 pullup, 1x5 pullups.