T Nation

Kettlebell Swings as Cardio?

Been looking into this as a way of: primarily, posture correction, and secondarily, fat-burning.

What weight would you select, and how long would you go for?

Also, are they dangerous to do, because one rep with imperfect form (as you fatigue) and you’ve probably got a slipped disc?

I’m a big kettlebell fan, and the answer to all your questions is, yes.

Seek out some instruction, or at the very least videos, to get the form down. I recommend the RKC community or their new manifestation Strong First.

As to weight, it depends. You want enough weight that you are not flinging the bell around but not so much weight that you can’t keep going for a while. Most guys will start with somewhere between 35 and 53 pounds. Once you get the form down and develop some stamina you can go super heavy (see some of Contreras’ articles). Still, I’ve been swinging for a few years now and I pretty much always use the 53 and 70 pounders.

And how long? I’d pick a set number of minutes, maybe 5 or 8 or 10. Swing for a comfortable number of reps, and then rest for however many seconds it takes you to feel ready to swing again. If you are dying, rest a little longer. Just keep it up for your prescribed number of minutes.

Other fun games are to swing for x number of reps at the top of each minute. If you can get 10 solid swings in, do that for however many minutes you feel comfortable going. If that is too easy, up it to 15.

Or do 30 seconds of swinging and 30 seconds of resting.

After a while you can just keep swinging. Some guys do 1,000 reps in a row. I’ve never done it myself, but it is possible. There is really no limit to what you can do with swings.

[quote]booksbikesbeer wrote:

Seek out some instruction, or at the very least videos, to get the form down. I recommend the RKC community or their new manifestation Strong First.