T Nation

Kettlebell Q for Mike Mahler

Hiya! I recall on one thread that you mentioned you preferred the old-school cannonball types over the adjustable kettlebells that can take regular weight plates. May I ask why? And for anyone who uses this type of equipment, I’d like a range of opinions. I ask because it seems easier to have gradual weight progression with the adjustable kinds, but of course I have no experience with either. Thanks in advance!

One of the major reasons is the rounded shape of the dragondoor models. It is easier to absorb shocks that come with cleans and snatches with a nice round shape with lots of surface area as compared to the adjustable models where your arms and wrists will be hit with the sides of the plates (less surface area).

Jason took the words right out of my mouth. I agree and the dragondoor ones are just much more user friendly. The plate loading ones might be beneficial for pressing since going up gradually is possible with the plate loading one. The plate loading one will get the job done and is an okay option if you do not have much money. However, the dragondoor ones are far superior and much more fun to throw around.

If I may be so bold to jump in here, I just wanted to add that Mike and Jason are 100% correct. Dragon Door’s are much more comfortable, and as Mike said, “fun to throw around”.

Having said that, I wrote an article that shows you how to make a plate-loaded one for an insanely low amount of money. Follow the link: http://xtremeconditioning.com/ Equipment/Kettlebell.htm (remove space before Equipment)