Kettlebell Conditioning

I have never used kettlebells before and now have access to them. Light, medium, and heavy, the heaviest being 88 lbs.

I train four days a week w/ 2 bench workouts and 2 sq/dl workouts, and want to incorporate kettlebells for conditioning work on off days.

Does anybody do that? How would you set it up?

By the way, I’m 5’10, 240-245 and want to use them to boost training capacity.

Thanks for any help.

Pretty tough to suggest anything if we have no idea what you have done in the past. There are a ton of programs and a lot of them could qualify as GPP work, but again, without knowing what you can and can’t do, it’s tough to recommend anything.

A lot can be done w. the basics like swings and turkish-get-ups. Assuming you can do them, you could look at EDT-type workouts with those two exercises and it would probably be a quick way to get in some GPP work.

This is just from my own experience, prolly not what real coaches do, but here goes.

I usually do all the kettlebelling the same day as I do my powerlifting training, though at the moment I’m not concentrating on conditioning and I’m pretty much doing just similar rep/set scheme as with my powerlifting training, but in the past I did it. I noticed that if I train powerlifting the first day, kettlebelling the next, and powerlifting again the third day that the kettlebelling eats up a bit from the day after.

Thus I do both the first day, nothing the second or perhaps some light cardio and start from the beginning again on the third day. This way you still get two nights of recovery in between the training (I’m doing full body workouts) and you can train hard again.

I don’t know if this is the best way if you want to really concentrate on conditioning, but if you’re like me so that the conditioning isn’t your top priority unlike strength training, it might be worth testing.
So, you might try out doing two kettlebell sessions the same day you do squat/deadlift.