T Nation

Keto Diet

Hey guys, i have some questions regarding the keto diet, or actually just dieting in general. I dislocated my shoulder on 11/11/11(lucky me..) and i've been packing on a bit of fat, so i decided to follow a keto diet, my reasoning is because i can't lift.
So im currently 188lbs and i follow a 2200 calories diet, 65% fat, 30% protein, 5% carbs. I do complexes 3x a week(Mon,Wed,Fri) followed by 40 mins of cardio and i do HITT 2-3 times a week(Tues,Thurs,Sat).

My question is, would this be considered too much cardio that i would lose muscle mass? and do complexes count as weight training?(im trying to prevent as much atrophy as possible)

This picture is of me yesterday.

I am by no means an expert, but in my own experience with the Anabolic Diet:

Yea, there's no way you're not going to be losing muscle mass.

Barbell complexes are a great way to condition, but in my opinion, it won't replace lifting, which plays a large role in helping you retain muscle mass when you're cutting weight.

IIRC, the concern of "doing too much cardio" on a ketosis diet comes from the fact that HIIT uses the same energy pathways as heavy lifting (which is essentially a type of interval training), in that they both tap into your stored glycogen.

In that respect, I would say you're right on the border. I lift every other day on the Anabolic diet, but I limit my HIIT to once or twice a week with an additional hour total of SS incline walking each week.

If you're losing more than 1-2 pounds a week AFTER THE FIRST 7-10 DAYS of switching to a keto diet (where preliminary water and glycogen loss occurs), then you're probably losing too much weight, and you should increase the Calories that you consume. I would suggest that you start closer to 3000 Calories/day and slowly taper them down.