Keto Diet Questions

I’ve been doing a ketogenic diet now (for fat loss) for 7 weeks and I’ve lost about 12 lbs, down from 200 to 188 lbs. Based on the mirror, I’m close to the 10 % mark.

My progress has stalled and this is my first time on the keto diet, so I have some questions for those T-Nation members who have done the keto diet with success.

1. What type of dietary progressions do you use on the keto diet, once progress has stalled? lower calories? no refeeds?

2. When progress stalls, do you prescribe going with a carb cycling approach or another dietary regiment?

3. Is it suggested to do low intensity or high intensity cardio during the keto diet?

4. What is the prescribed course of dietary action, once you finish up the keto diet? And can you expect to gain fat once you start re-introducing carbs into your diet?

Thanks

1. Depending on your calories currently and the amount of exercise I would first look to create a larger deficit. This can by eating less, doing more or both. As a side note, I personally found that a weekly refeed kept my metabolism burning with no fatloss speed bumps.

2. When progress stalls on a keto, I would see above. Again, for me, a refeed at least weekly is optimal. This is why I now favor diets with some sort of daily or at least weekly cycle to them. Like carb cycling or CKDs.

3. It is recommended to do low intensity cardio while on a keto diet. I stick to low intensity myself, but I wouldn’t be shocked if high intensity cardio wasn’t as catabolic as people make it seem.

4. I’ve personally came off of long duration keto’ing twice. Both times I kept my calories the same, but substituted some of the fats for carbs. Never had a problem. As long as your calories are the same, you shouldn’t add any fat. You may however, retian some water and the scale will climb because of the glycogen/water your body is now holding. Not a problem, its not fat.

Have a cheat day. :slight_smile:

elusive,