Keeping My Girl Interested in Lifting?

Well, I recently started lifting again, and my girl has been joining me when she has the time, but I can tell she’s already getting bored with it. I’m trying to find ways to make it a competition (one she can actually have a shot in) or rewards after (we already have one;) or before, or something to make it more than just “lifting” until she can see results.

Any suggestions, or should I move this to a different forum?

I’d put her onto crossfit. Have her watch some youtube videos of what they do and it might motivate her. Have her do some of their workouts. Plus crossfit chics from I’ve seen have some real eye friendly physiques.

I’d write out a two month program. Set some goals. I’d think that’s the best way to keep anybody motivated and consistent.

Yeah. I definitely could sit down and do that with her. I’ve got to buy another set of calipers, but do you think getting all the #'s (like I plan to do with my stats) like weight, bf%, measurements, etc would put a little bit of “self consciousness” into the mix, or would being able to see the progress help in the long run?

Also, I might look into that cross fit stuff, as well as any other things that’ll keep her interested and active.

If it were me I’d need to see results, either from changes in my body or by seeing my strength increase. Make sure she’s actually pushing herself hard enough to feel like she’s working on something–I mean by making sure she knows how hard she can work. A lot of women don’t realize how strong they are and going half-assed is a sure way to get bored.

If she doesn’t want to, she doesn’t want to. Dump her when she gets fat.

Ha, she does want to. She’s 5’3 about 110, and a dancer. Chances are she’s not getting fat any time soon, but she is like any girl and complains about her problem spots. I need to start getting back into the swing of working out, and she is actually interested in joining me.