Keep Going or Change Something?

Hey everyone.

As I mentioned in another thread, I’ve been doing John Berardi’s “Scrawny to Brawny” plan for about 8 months now. I’ve also been following the accompanying massive eating plan as much as possible. Since starting I have gained muscle and fat at a ratio of about 3:2. I weighed 165 lbs then, and about 215 now. Currently, my lean mass is almost 180…at least up to my ability to measure this stuff accurately. This puts my body fat %somewhere in the neighborhood of 16-18% Pretty high, for what I’ve seen people post on this site.

Lately I’ve been thinking “I probably eat too much, but I am afraid to eat less. I’ll stick with the 3:2 ratio.” This may seem stupid; I could try eating less. But since this is the first thing that has ever worked for me, I’m a little afraid to “mess with success”.

Recently, I’ve found that I am hungry all the time. About 3 weeks ago I started falling asleep in classes. I wasn’t sure if it was a lack of carbs or if it was just how boring the classes were. So I ate pretty monsterously for about 2 weeks, and gained about 8 lbs, of which more than half was lean mass. I was extremely happy with the results, probably the best period since I started the program. I felt like my long overdue “newbie gains” were finally showing up. Obviously I can’t continue to gain like this, yet the hunger continues. I’m not sure if that is because my body needs it or because I am now just used to overeating.