Keep Building or Try Getting Lean?

I’m 44 years old. 5’11" 235 pounds and unfortunately about 35 to 40 percent body fat. I have been lifting for about 3 months. My wife and I have noticed that my arms and shoulders are looking better. We have also noticed that my man boobs and gut have not. Should I spend the next few months cutting calories and doing some cardio to get rid of the fat and then start building? Right now I have cut carbs except on workout days and eat between 1900 and 2200 calories. I am considering the velocity diet.

One of the few advantages of being significantly overweight is, you can build muscle while eating at a deficit. The point being, you can continue to lose fat and gain muscle at the same time; you don’t have to choose between the two.

On another subject: I don’t know what your dieting history has been, but eating 1900 to 2200 cals/d constitutes a drastic (and probably unsustainable) calorie deficit for someone weighing 235#. It also is likely to be counterproductive, as you will rapidly drive your metabolism into slowdown mode. Assuming you’re counting calories accurately and lifting most days per week, you should be able to lose weight eating 12 cal/lb/d, which for you is ~2800 cals/d. Thus I would suggest you consider eating more, not less.

3 Likes

Eat more? If I eat more, clean of course, and continue to lift can I assume my weight will go up? It seems like nothing is taking fat off of my midsection while building my arms and shoulders. It’s quite frustrating.

If you eat fewer cals than you take in, you will lose fat. Further, you will lose fat at a much faster rate than you will build muscle, so your bodyweight will go down, not up.