K Gets Serious

Hi, I’m Kiersten. Let me start with the basics:

Height: 5’0"
Weight: 115.8lbs, according to my scale this morning.
Chest: 34"
Waist: 26"
Hips: 35"
Thighs: 19"
Arms: 11"

Goals: Get to competition level for power lifting. It would be a bonus to lose about 2" off the waist, but I’m not that worried about it.

I’ve been lifting for about two years recreationally, but just recently (as in yesterday) decided to play to my strengths and start power lifting. I was a cheerleader and dancer throughout my childhood and teen years so I already have strong legs, and I’m not afraid of a little weight. My husband has volunteered to coach/train/help me. We’ve come up with a basic weekly plan based around squats, bench, and dead lifts. Today was the first day of this new routine, so here’s what I did:

Deadlifts
2 warm up sets
-45# (just the bar, to get a feel) x 5
-65# x 5

Regular sets 5x3-5 (pyramid)
-95# x 5
-115# x 3
-135# x 5 (could’ve done more, but lost my grip)
-135# x 4 (lost grip again)
-115# x 5

Rack Pulls (3x2)
-155# x 2
-185# x 2
-185# x 2 (stopped there to work on form)

Core
-Kayak Twists w/ 5# medicine ball x50
-Hyper-extensions 20, 20
-Crunchy Frog (yeah, I’ve done P90x…) 25, 25, 25

Haven’t tested my maxes yet, but I’ll keep you all posted. I look forward to sharing my progress and staying motivated by watching yours!

This is my big, mean trainer. (Please ignore all of the lovely decor in our entryway).

Welcome! My gay mate would definitely go for your husband - he goes for hairy guys with shaved heads.
Do you find it OK being trained by him? A lot of people find it difficult to train with a partner.

Thanks for the welcome!

My husband is flattered. :slight_smile: