T Nation

Just Wondering About This Program

It's weird.  Very weird.  I designed it because I'm new to weightlifting and I want to add some stability, control, and weight to my core lifts (bench, bent-over row, chin-up, dip, squat, and deadlift).  I want to do a total body work-out every day, but I also don't like the idea of doing squats and deadlifts in the same day.  All set/rep schemes will be 3 x 8 for 4 weeks, then 8 x 3 for the next 4 weeks.  I don't really know what I'll do then, restarted the program?

A
Bench Presses
Barbell Bent-Over Rows
Deadlifts
Calf Presses
Knee Tucks

B
Dips
Chin-Ups
Squats
Calf Presses
Knee Tucks

As if it didn't look odd enough (or at least to me), because of my schedule, I'll have to do it like this:

AxBxAxx - BxAxBxx

How's it look? I need to keep my workouts as short as possible, I can't be doing too much each day...

I like it.

However the only thing I would change is by doing your deads on Day A and squats on Day B first.

Just personal preference, because those movements involve so many muscle groups.

As well, You want to include some supersets into future workouts. They are very time efficient, not to mention very effective

Regards

It looks ok for starters.

I do think there are better workouts. Why are you so adamant about a total body workout? Why does it have to be the same two workouts?

I think you can still do total body and concentrate on one "core lift" a day.

Additionally, the "core lifts" you listed(bench, rows, chins, dips, squats, and deads) are somewhat related. Increase your bench and you will likely increase your dip. Increase your squat and your deadlift may rise.

I think you can use this to "economize" your workouts. Group your proirity of the day by body part or by push/pull or whatever.

I also very much dislike using the same set/rep scheme for the entire workout. If for no other reason than it just gets boring and stale to do 6 or 7 exercises all for 3 sets of 8 or whatever.