Just Turned 35

Well, I just celebrated my 35th birthday this past Saturday. I am a raw powerlifter in the 220 class.
I began training for powerlifting in the fall of 2004 and competed in my first meet in September 2005 (330-275-408 for 1014 in the 198s).
My next meet was in November 2005 (360-285-425 for 1070 in the 198s).

I did a bench-only in April of 2006 (310@209) before doing another full meet in June of 2006 (400-315-430 for 1140 in the 220s).
I took four months off at this point because I started working an extra job.

I started lifting again in December of 2006. I did a local meet the next month (January 2007) and only benched 280@213 and pulled 445@213…
I trained steady until May when I took another two months off because I stopped taking my antidepressants.

I started training again with a December full meet in sight. I did that meet going 405-315-460=1180@214…
In January of 2008, I lost my car and stopped going to the gym.

I began lifting again in mid August, doing bench-only training because my gym is a Planet Fitness (I walk there because it is really close).
It was depressing as fuck to weigh 200 and bench 245x1 with a struggle.

I am back up to ~300 based on my training results.
I am doing a comeback meet on 12/13 (APA Iron Barbarian) where my goal is a 315 bench at 208 or so…

The point of all this rambling is to give a better picture of what type of lifter I am.
I am genetically average, a bit overweight due to my psych meds messing with my metabolism.
I am only 5’5 so I do have a very short bench stroke.

I guess I am looking for encouragement from other guys who picked up the sport late and have had difficulty training consistently.

My 2008 goal as I mentioned is 315 BP but I would like to someday hit a double bodyweight raw bench.

I’m only 5’5" myself. Used to weigh more than you do. I’m still no where near your numbers.

Keep posting.

Happy Birthday, welcome to boot hill! Great numbers there and realistic goals.