T Nation

Just Starting Out

I’m just starting out some bodybuilding/weights traing in the last few weeks.

Mainly I started cos I was sick of myself, always partying, always being broke, low in self esteem also.

Just wondering if anybody can give out some helpful tips on anything at all.

Id love to get my upperbody a lot bigger. I am enjoying what i’ve done so far but i want to keep educating myself also.

those are great reasons for wanting to start out. i am almost 19 and started (seriously training) for kind of the same reasons about a year ago - i am very happy with my gains and i think bodybuilding/weight training and conditioning will always be a significant part of my life.

in terms of tips, firstly although a bigger upperbody is a good goal, you shoul dnot neglect ur lower body as almost all men who casually train in the gym once or twice a week seem to do. if u do, you will end up looking silly with toothpick legs or will just sacrifice overall size gains imo. in terms of diet, dont get too complicated at first - if you are naturally skinny just focus on eating a meal or shake every few hours containing at least 30g protein and and some carbs, and eat healthy fats from nuts, avocado and olive oil. most of all, eat enough that u gain weight and dont fuss too much, just get on with it and eat.

I’m assuming you haven’t already read through this.

[quote]magee84 wrote:
I’m just starting out some bodybuilding/weights traing in the last few weeks.

Mainly I started cos I was sick of myself, always partying, always being broke, low in self esteem also.

Just wondering if anybody can give out some helpful tips on anything at all.

Id love to get my upperbody a lot bigger. I am enjoying what i’ve done so far but i want to keep educating myself also.[/quote]

The biggest clue I can give you is that…

At the end of the day you are on your own.

YOU have to do this, so do something for yourself, don’t go looking for hand outs…