Just Starting Out, Need Advice

Hey guys, I need some advice. I’m 20 years old and have been lifting on and for about six years .
I’m 5’10 and 210 pounds. Was wondering if I’m heading in the right direction in using Strong lifts 5x5 to start out.
Also I’ve never really paid attention to my nutrition before, if anyone could point me in the right direction, the would be fcking awesome.
I’ve used google to look up nutrition among other things, but id rather get advice from second that has been doing well, someone that has learned by trial and error.

I don’t need to plan written out, just pointers.

Thanks.

A 5x5 program can be a fine starting place. Some people can also make very long term gains in strength on these programs.

Don’t start at the bar with the lifts as recommended because it sounds like you have experience.I started lifting with SLs with virtually no previous barbell experience and still started with a 50kg load for the squat and 40kg load for the bench press (@68kg BW). But still be conservative because the weight climbs quickly.

I would also add in different kinds of back work. Pull-ups, dumbell rows, increasing the deadlift work, machine work if you have access… The program lacks a decent amount of pulling. The recommended Pendlay rows can also be difficult to pull of properly (and most people put too much weight on the bar) so they might not be very useful in the beginning.