T Nation

Just Starting Out, Need Advice

Well first of all, I’m a 16 year old girl. I’m around 5’4, 100 pounds. I have never lifted before, so I’m very new to this. I think I’d look much better if I was bigger. I want to train more to help with basically every sport that I do (dance, gymnastics, volleyball), and make myself look and feel a lot better. Here is what I can do so far:

Bench: 50 =[
Dead lift: 125
Squat: 100 (bodyweight, haven’t squated using weights before)

The program I’m on now is all bodyweight exercises, I don’t own any weights but my boyfriend does and I try to do as much as I can when I get over there. Here is the program:

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday
Squat 2x14 (No weight, keep your feet flat on the floor the whole time)

Push-up 2x14 (On your toes, go until your chest almost touches the floor)

Lunge 2x14 (Alternate legs, 1 rep left/1 rep right)

Pull-up 2x14 (use an assisted pull-up or pulldowns if needed)

Plank 2x15-count (Hold the top part of a push-up, on your toes, arms straight, keep your whole body straight. Count to 15.)

Burpee 2x14 (Ask your gym teacher how to do these, also called a squat thrust)

I can do about 20 bodyweight squats, and around 8 pushups for one set. I’m hoping that it will only take me two or so weeks to be able to do the rest. What I really need help with is the eating. I’m very small, and try to eat as much as i can, but I’m not putting on any weight. Calories are around 2000 per day, and protein intake is around maybe 75g per day. Any comments on anything, or if pictures are needed, just let me know.

Edit: If there is one main area I would like to make bigger, it would be my legs. I have been told by my loving, thoughtful boyfrend that they resemble those of an Ethiopian child’s.

:expressionless: rofl, help please.

Hmm… that routine looks awfully like What Colucci posted for another young athlete. Good call reading the forums before posting.