T Nation

Just Started Body Building - Seeking Advice

Hey all.

I started weight training a week ago and changed my diet as well. I want to make sure I am doing it right, particularly my diet.

Since I started training, I have cut all bad foods out of my diet. I used to eat a lot of take-away and drink fizzy drinks.
I am now only eating meats such as steak, chicken, lamb and lamb chops. Vegetables including broccoli, snow peas, spinach, capsicum, carrot and green beans. Some times I mix all my vegetables up into pasta.
I have also been eating eggs. I also have 1 or 2 servings of fruit each day, mainly apple or banana. I am eating 5-6 meals a day.
I drink protein shakes when I feel like I haven’t eaten enough but apart from that I only drink water and milk.

My diet on a training day looks something like this, obviously it changes a bit:

-2 eggs on toast
-3-6 Weetbix with a cut up banana on top
-Pasta
-Steak and Vegetables, possibly with a protein shake (hour before training)
-Train
-Pasta with mixed vegetables (Post Training)
-Meat and Vegetables (Generally what my parents cook for dinner)
-Buttered toast and an apple

As for weight training itself I am trying to work in the 8-12 rep range for 3-4 sets with 1-2 minute rests. I am training with my experienced friend and the program goes like this:

-Chest/Back: Dumbbell Bench Press, Barbell Incline Press, Lat pull-downs and standing rows
-Rest
-Arms: Military Press, Seated dumbbell overhead press (not sure what it’s called exactly), EZcurl bar curls, tricep extensions)
-Legs: Romanian deadlifts and single leg squats. I am working my way up to deadlifts and front squats but want to get the form right first.
-Rest

As I have only just started I am still experimenting with getting all my weights right and am still working on correct form with a few things.