Just Joined

Hey T-Natioin. I stumbled across this site about two weeks ago and have been on Daily ever since. Im not a beginner, but im not advanced. I lift at work and im kinda isolated from serious weightlifters since i got out of the army about 18 months ago.

I lift 4 days on and 3 off, thats what my schedule allows: Chest/Tri, Legs, Back/Bi, Shoulders. I walk and run with the wife and kid on my days off. My biggest question, Is 1:30 enough time to work out, and what should i limit my rest period to between sets and exercises?

[quote]irishcop wrote:
Hey T-Natioin. I stumbled across this site about two weeks ago and have been on Daily ever since. Im not a beginner, but im not advanced. I lift at work and im kinda isolated from serious weightlifters since i got out of the army about 18 months ago.

I lift 4 days on and 3 off, thats what my schedule allows: Chest/Tri, Legs, Back/Bi, Shoulders. I walk and run with the wife and kid on my days off. My biggest question, Is 1:30 enough time to work out, and what should i limit my rest period to between sets and exercises? [/quote]

lately a lot of coaches and people have been advocating no more than an hour in the gym, b/c cortisol levels start to rise the longer you workout and this can halt your gains, but this rule can be stretched. And you need to know what your going for in order to determine your rest periods, whether it be maximal strength(longer rest periods) or to look good nekid(shorter rest periods).

I looking for strength. Looking good wont save my life. Endourance is big, too. My looks wont get me through a foot pursuit and a fight with some flea-bitten sack-o-shit.

[quote]irishcop wrote:
I looking for strength. Looking good wont save my life. Endourance is big, too. My looks wont get me through a foot pursuit and a fight with some flea-bitten sack-o-shit. [/quote]