T Nation

Just How Bad is My Routine?

So I started lifting again around October, with about 9 years since I last lifted. Since then I’ve made consistent gains on every lift almost every week except curls and bench, I also lost a bit of weight but gained very noticeable amount of muscle especially around the shoulders.

So I change my workouts a little every now and then but here’s the basics

Day 1
Military Press
Shoulder Shrugs
Upright Rows (sometimes)
Lat Raise
Front Raise
Alternating Dumbell curls on an incline bench
Bodywieght Dips 3x failure
EZ Curl Bar
Tricep Rope Pulldown

Day 2
Squat
Barbell Glute Bridge*
Seated Hamstring Curls
Adductor Machine Inside and Out.
Seated calves 2 sets each of toes pointed in/out/and strait.
Thinking of adding Single Leg Squats

Day 3
Bench
Wide Grip Bench
Incline
Cable Flys
Bent over Row
Strait Leg Deadlift
Back Extensions
Pullups

Ab work when I have time/feel like it, probably average 2x a week.

I had been doing 3x10 of everything excepts dips (til failure) and squat, bench and bent over rows (3x5) but I’m going to switch everything except dips to 3x10

My work schedule is really fucked up so sometimes I workout 4 days in a row and take 4 off sometimes I’m able to go every other day for 5 or 6 workouts sometimes I do two on one off It’s just different, but I make sure I get at LEAST 3 workouts a week, most of the time it’s four.

Goals are weight loss by increasing muscle mass.

*had been doing these ones http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/dispelling_the_glute_myth But I’m going to switch to the one found here ( http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance_interviews/glute_boy_speaks_an_interview_with_bret_contreras )