T Nation

Just got Slammed into a Brick Wall

Since starting out serious lifting in mid november 2011 I’ve seen gains in about every lift and other body weight exercises but my brick wall is pull ups and chin ups, after about 2 reps i’m just done. I’ve been stuck on the assisted machine, I’m just beginning to record my workouts to see what i’m doing wrong but i’d like to get the more experienced opinions of you guys.

I’m 16 5’7 152 pds. Monday: Arms & Chest Tuesday: legs (hamstrings & calves) Wednesday: Shoulders Thursday: Back & arms (bis,tris, forearm) Friday: Cardio general light workout using bodyweight Saturday: Armor building specifically tumbling workout http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/most_recent/armor_building And sunday just a light jog. I’m eating relatively healthy

can anybody tell me if im doing anything wrong

what are you doing specifically to improve your pullups?

ive been using the assisted pull up machine timed about 25 seconds, on the day i do back i do a set of horizontal pull ups using the olympic bar just maxing out…doing vertical dips with a 25 pd weight on my lap…and military presses. Should i be doing more workouts that mimic the motion of pull ups?

First article has some decent progressions that should help.

I’ve also used a free Android app by Rittr Labs for pull-ups that gave decent progression (there are similar ones for iPhone too)

1. ditch the assissted pullup machine. right now. dont ever touch it again.
  2. Horizontal rows won’t help you much if at all with pullups.
  3. bench dips? what does that have to with pullups? you should prolly stop those too because they can tear up your shoulders.