Just Got a Sales Job, Need Ideas!

I just got hired as a team leader in a door to door sales company. My duties will include charting territory covered and territory to be covered, hiring/firing and team training. They are willing to give me a few months to get on the ball and i am a pretty good manager but im not great as a salesman.

In order for my team to succeed, i will have to train my team to knock our customers socks off, with our promotions.

Anybody that has ever done the in-person sales thing have any tips? What are the best books on sales? I need to place some orders on amazon this weekend so i’ll soon have a leg up

Im also into karate , and japanese jujitsu so if anybody wants to hollar sometime , I’m here! Thanks

[quote]jacktors wrote:
I just got hired as a team leader in a door to door sales company. My duties will include charting territory covered and territory to be covered, hiring/firing and team training. They are willing to give me a few months to get on the ball and i am a pretty good manager but im not great as a salesman.

In order for my team to succeed, i will have to train my team to knock our customers socks off, with our promotions.

Anybody that has ever done the in-person sales thing have any tips? What are the best books on sales? I need to place some orders on amazon this weekend so i’ll soon have a leg up

Im also into karate , and japanese jujitsu so if anybody wants to hollar sometime , I’m here! Thanks[/quote]

Are you paying upfront costs to start this? If so, you may want to rethink it. Door to door is a huge turnover business.

Im in an established company. Im only an entry level manager and i need to get my sales ability up to speed. No startup costs or anything like that i just want my employees to be as sucessful as possible.

I’ve done sales for a few months as a telemarketer but the managers are expected to be great salesmen because we have to correct our workers even though we wont be selling per se.