T Nation

Just Found Out Allergic to Wheat Gluten

What type of diet would be beneficial for this problem.

The Atkins diet!

Okay, seriously, that sucks. And it’s mighty inconvenient, because you’ll discover that you can’t eat most grain products (i.e. bread). Now, is it wheat gluten specifically that you are alergic to, or gluten in general (I have a friend who has a (medically) low tolerance for gluten, and has to be very careful about what he eats. . . but you mention wheat, and I don’t know enough about it to know if that includes everything).

Specifically, wheat, rye, barley, etc, are out, depending on your sensitivity.

My suggestion would be to pick up a decent book on gluten-free living and/or gluten-free cooking. Also, do some google searching on ‘gluten’ and ‘gluten free’. That’ll help you get a better understanding for exactly which grains you can’t eat, and which ones you can, and how to substitute things so you can eat fairly normally.

For quick start, here’s something I pulled up from the Gluten Intolerance Group[1]:

[quote]The following grains & starches are allowed:

* Buckwheat
* Rice
* Corn
* Potato
* Tapioca
* Bean
* Sorghum
* Arrowroot
* Amaranth
* Quinoa
* Millet
* Tef
* Nut Flours

The following grains contain gluten and are not allowed:

* Wheat (durum, semolina)
* Rye
* Barley
* Spelt
* Triticale
* Kamut
* Farina

The following ingredients are questionable and should not be consumed unless you can verify they do not contain or are derived from prohibited grains:

* Brown rice syrup (frequently made with barley)
* Dextrin (usually corn, but may be derived from wheat)
* Flour or cereal products
* Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), vegetable protein, hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP), or textured vegetable protein (TVP)
* Malt or malt flavoring (usually made from barley. Okay if made from corn)
* Modified food starch or modified starch
* Natural and artificial flavors
* Soy sauce or soy sauce solids (many soy sauces contain wheat)

Additional components frequently overlooked that often contain gluten:

* Breading
* Broth
* Coating mixes
* Communion Wafers
* Croutons
* Imitation bacon
* Imitation seafood
* Marinades
* Pastas
* Processed Meats
* Roux
* Sauces
* Self-basting poultry
* Soup base
* Stuffing
* Thickeners

Can I Use Oats?

Based on numerous studies in the last several years, involving children and adults, using pure oats and store-shelf oats, around the world; research shows that oats do not appear to be harmful to persons with gluten intolerance in moderation. Recent discovery of the specific reactive peptide in gluten intolerance and research by Dr. Don Kasarda on the amino acid sequencing of oats vs. the now known peptide, would again clear oats as not having the reactive peptide sequence known to be problematic for gluten intolerance. Therefore oats are gluten free.

However, there is concern by the medical and research communities worldwide that the level of possible contamination of oats with gluten from unacceptable sources is too high. Therefore, GIG? is not recommending the use of oats by the celiac community.

Today, as we know and understand research on gluten intolerance, the offending cereals that must be avoided are wheat, rye, barley and their derivative cereals.[/quote]

Note that soy was on the list of “approved” things, but I deleted it because we all know that soy should be strenuously avoided.

Also, even when avoiding gluten, there are alternatives for most things out there. . . for example, I tried a gluten-free hot cereal[2] a while back that I was reasonably impressed with.

[1] http://www.gluten.net/diet.asp
[2] http://www.bobsredmill.com/catalog/index.php?action=showdetails&product_ID=203

um…a wheat free diet? sorry…

check out www.celiac.org
It all depends on whether you have full blown celiacs diease or are just gluten intolerant. Either way you need to make an appointment with a smart dietician ASAP. ALL grains contain gluten except rice. Even so-called safe grains are usually contaminated by gluten from being grown in fields near other wheat or just plain old having miniscule amounts of gluten in them. The biggies to avoid would be wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Millet, amaranth, spelt, kamut(another egyptian for of wheat making a comeback but not good for celiacs), quinoa and flax are the only so-called gluten free grains I can think of. If you are looking to replace the wheat foods in your diet that you can no longer have it would be best to go with yams, rice (the only grain 100% tolerated by all celiacs I know of), potatoes, beans etc. Also, almost all packaged foods are contaminated by wheat. Even soysauce has wheat in it and you’d have to go to a health foood store to buy a wheat free bottle. Seriously, talk to your doctor, talk to a dietician, and read up on the net b/c there are sites that list a lot of the secret wheat in pre-packaged foods that may or may not be listed in the ingredients. Also, do your best to read labels on your own. Good luck because you will need it.

a diet without wheat gluten.

[quote]tiffy wrote:
“Either way you need to make an appointment with a smart dietician ASAP.”

Smart dietitican? Registered dietitican? I used to major in dietetic and I’ll tell you, most of them suck. Too much bullshit but the sad thing is that nearly all of them don’t know that they’re learning the wrong stuff. I might try osteopathic doctor, not medical doctor for nutrition advices. www.mercola.com - he’s pretty good at nutrition stuff for a doctor but if you’re looking to get bigger, you’d have to consume more carbs so rices, yams, etc will do.

The gluten intolerance is more common than previously thought which im not surprised because of FDA’s ridiculous food pyramid! We didn’t start consuming grains exclusively till around 5000 years ago which led to less than optimum health for people. Our genetics were pretty much set in 10,000 years ago.