T Nation

Just Another Log

So I’ve been a lurker here for as long as I can remember - probably about 7-8 years I think. Well, I figure it’s about time for me to start up a training log.

I’m a kines student, and have been training off and on for about…3 years or so? Up until this year though, it’s been severely limited by an 8ish month volleyball season, probably about 10 hours a week on average including games, plus travel and stuff. Due to way too many nagging injuries, I could never really focus whole heartedly on lifting and was too busy to really dial in my nutrition and make any serious gains with volleyball. Excuses, excuses. Pretty much, I’ve been a little bitch and haven’t had the discipline - until now.

The basics:
21 YO
6’2", 180lbs right now but my natural weight is about 165, and I’ve been as high as 200lbs. Broke my ankle playing volleyball last year and dropped down to my natural weight, don’t know what happened but I lost all motivation for physical activity. Laziness, I guess.

My lifts:
Unsure of what my true maxes are right now, but before my injury they were…
Bench: 165x5
Squat: 245x5 for 3 sets (ass to grass)
Deadlift: 335x5
Power clean: 70kg x3
Military press: 125x5
Pullups: BW+45x3

More to come, don’t wanna put it all in one post.

Inuries, issues, etc.:
After playing volleyball for at least 6 months a year for about 8-9 years, my body is a WRECK. Say what you want about volleyball, but all the jumping and swinging can take a major toll on the body. So I have more than a few injuries to deal with.

My ankle is definitely priority number 1 right now - mobility is terrible. I could go deep on squats with pretty decent form up until my ankle injury, but ever since…not so much, to put it lightly. Pretty bad lower back rounding at the bottom now.

So, being the idiot that I am, tried to fight through it and I think I fucked up my left hip pretty bad squatting deep with shitty form.