Jumps and Throws Before Main Lifts

First off, I really enjoy 5/3/1. If it ever becomes legal to marry a workout program, I um, won’t, but if I did it would be 5/3/1. After a year on the program, mostly switching between BBB and SST, my lifts have either increased significantly or increased slightly while my form has improved. I’ve lost body fat and my old ass can also almost dunk again. (A basketball, not toast. I never lost the ability to dunk bread.)

My question is mostly to build my knowledge. I have mostly followed the program as written except for a few mistakes I made in reading, like combining the main lift pyramid with BBB for 2 cycles. That said, I like to know WHY things work.

Why is it suggested to do the explosive power building jumps and throws before the main lift? I’m an athletics coach. I coach the throwers during track season. We warm up, then throw, then lift. We do because as throwers, our goal is to throw far. Lifting helps that greatly, but it is secondary to actually throwing.

My personal training goal is to improve my overall athleticism, so the format works and makes sense for me. But if someone didn’t care about explosiveness and only cared about their lifting numbers, would it be better for them to lift then jump/throw?

My theory is that lifts don’t suffer from reasonably light throwing first, and/or the body responds better to developing power before fatigue sets in and/or if you try jumping and throwing after the main lift you’ll use lousy form and won’t benefit as much from it.

I have understood that the fatigue is the one of the reasons explosive work is usually done before main lifts. You just can not perform so good with the explosive stuff after heavy lifting and losing the speed kind of misses the point of doing them at the first place (to improve speed).