T Nation

Judoka - Primary Lifts?

Hey guys, just updating parts of my routine.

Hoping to get some input as to what are the better lifts to use for Judo? I’ve included lifts from blocks, such as high pulls, snatches and cleans which i believe is the best height for the power.

Any particular variations of the big lifts i should be using also? The variations i’m using at the moment are the Front Squat, Snatch Grip Dead and Bench Press from Pins.

Cheers people

I know that judokas like to do bodyweight dips in pyramids for strength endurance (you can pair those with pull ups if you like; I also reckon deadlifts and olympic lifts would be helpful. And (!) grip training. Keep in mind, however, that many judo trainers include some form of strength conditioning in their classes, so your needs would depends on the gaps these leave.

Also…

i trained in judo for two years, then quit because of switching interests. i’ve been lifting for like 9 months now and ever since getting stronger, i have been itching to get back on the mat. i was always the lightest in the men’s team (-60kg weight class) so i trained with mostly (much) heavier guys and i always had trouble getting out of low hip and shoulder throws like the seoi nage because of weakness (in legs).

sorry for the anecdote, here’s my ideas:

order of lifts in terms of importance/carryover to judo

1. squat(wide stance low-bar) see louie simmons (“wide builds narrow, though not vice versa”)
  2. powerclean (snatch is a lot more technical but if you can do those, do them!)
  3. deadlift (also: holding last rep for grip, heavy rack pulls for grip)
  4. standing press/bench press

if you have the equipment, i would try heavy farmers walks (fat grips maybe?) for overall conditioning and forearm strength.

hope i could give you some ideas

OP,

If you search for judo and wrestling you should find some relevant threads.

We have some accomplished judoka on the board and I think they have posted advice several times.