T Nation

Journey to 200lbs

Just a little background info:

I've been lifting consistently for about 2 years now since I joined the military. I always enjoyed working out and will continue to enjoy it the rest of my life. I was 240 - 250 lbs during my high school years and lost about 100 lbs over the span of 2 years after high school and before I enlisted in the Navy, pretty much by running a shit ton and cutting out literally all the junk food that I had been eating (soda, fudge rounds, twinkies, ice cream, etc..). After boot camp I got pretty serious about putting on some size (I have a big brother who I always have to compete with..). Gained about 15 pounds after boot camp and was up to 170lbs after about a year of starting to lift and diet better.

Last year I went on deployment to Liberia, Africa and didn't have much of a gym but I still did some form of workout everyday for almost 10 months while we were deployed there. Didn't gain much weight, was about 120 degrees outside and the fact that we worked 14-16 hour days didn't help either.

I got home in December of 2010 from deployment and weighed about 175, ever since then been eating super clean and a lot more than what I am used to, as well as hitting the gym the hardest ever. Since then I have gained about 12 pounds, I weigh about 187-188. Bodyfat I don't know cause I don't care so much, I am pretty lean though, I would guess anywhere between 8-10, but I am no expert..

I usually do a 6 day split, one day off, one body part a day (I'll throw in calves and abs as needed)

Sundays: Chest + calves

Mondays: Back

Tuesdays: Shoulders

Wednesdays: Triceps + calves

Thursdays: Biceps + abs

Fridays: Legs

Saturday: Off

For the larger body parts like legs and back I will do anywhere between 20-25 sets and for the smaller body parts I will do around 12 sets. I like to workout very quick (less than a hour). I do fasted cardio almost every morning at 445am.