T Nation

Journey From 400 Lbs.

Okay, I’m down to 325 now, from 380 (was 400…was about 380 when I started training this time around).

I’m going to start posting about every 4th training session on here.

Today, my partner and I did walking lunges (bodyweight, which is significant), split squats, step-ups, and deadlifts. The lunges and split squats were hard as crap because I’m so unathletic. It was VERY hard to keep my balance. It was effective, though. The workout was only 11 hours ago and my quads are already sore.

I hit a PR in the deadlift today!!! 275! I could only do 205 when I started at the end of July. So, basically, here’s how I’ve progressed since August 1st:

Bodyweight: 380----------------325
Deadlift: 205----------------275
Bench press: 135----------------180 (I know, I know this is appalling)
Squat: yeah, right--------215 (please keep in my mind my bw of 325 right now)

So, I’m pretty pleased with my progress thus far. Here are my concerns:

1. I tend to go for days or even weeks without losing weight, then will drop 6-7 pounds in two days. I don’t understand this, but the plateaus DO get frustrating.

2. My shoulders and core SUCK! When I military press with a 7ft Olympic bar, my max is only about 90lbs. I tend to lean back, and REALLY feel it stressing my abs and low back. My right shoulder is extremely weak. I can press a 24kg kettlebell overhead with my left arm, but can’t even press a 20kg bell with my right (and I’m RIGHT handed!).

Plus, it’s in the mid-range that my bench press gets stuck, pointing out again that my shoulders are my weak point.

1. After reading a t-muscle article about mobility being limited by weakness rather than flexibility, I feel that that is the problem with my squat. It’s hard to go low without leaning forward…and I feel the squat in my low-back WAY more than in my legs.

I’ve tried to learn what I feel best on and have come up with a diet plan for the new year:

Daily: