Jon Jones Band Work, Is It Wrong?

I was watching this Jon Jones video on how he works out. I noticed he does a lot of band work, mimicking the motions he does when he fights. I read on tnation that mimicking motions through band work was all garbage and that it is better just to preform squatting and normal exercises.

Watch the first video on the training:

You are gonna find people on both sides of this.

There will always be the traditional style strength and power guys and the newer functional crowd. I dont think one is greater than the other and if you are doing your conditioning correctly will most likely have times when you are doing each one.

I’m no expert but here’s what I think. I generally think that performing speed based movements like striking under resistance pays limited dividends. I say this because you don’t have to overcome any resistance to throw a punch or a knee. All you have to do is fire the right muscles in the right sequence as fast, hard and economically as possible while staying as loose and relaxed as possible. I think that the bands will interfere with this process by subtly changing the movement pattern, adding unnecessary tension and forcing you throw the strikes more slowly. This seems counterproductive to me, especially for someone who is just starting out.

I would see more carry over to grappling-type movements where you are often applying force against direct resistance. Just my opinion.

Of course Jones and his S & C coach presumably know way more about this than I do, so there you go.

if you read on T-Nation and elite fts you might think squat with low reps and deadlifts are by far the best exercises for speed & strength for martial arts. And you might get the impression that is the only way to train. You just have to read between the lines… for a martial artist this are the best assistance exercises!