Joint Problems (Shoulder)

Hallo everyone, I just started training properly a few months ago after a long period of messing about and/or not being dedicated enough, and I have to say that this site and everyone on it have been a create help and motivation.

The problem I wanted to ask about is that my shoulders seem a little “loose”. While all my joints crackle and pop, my right shoulder is causing active problems.

I have always had trouble with the shoulder, but it has generally been restricted to minor pain while exercising.

It seems that the end of the shoulder has two rest positions. It is a bit hard to explain and I cannot post a video right now so I will try to explain it, please bear with me.

When I hold my arm parallel to the floor extended in front to me and then pull my hand backwards in a rowing movement, the end of my arm pops “into” my shoulder. I don’t feel it coming out of the proper rest position, but when it returns it does so with a dull “thump”.

Generally this does not hurt, but yesterday (WS4SB ME upper body) I was doing incline DB bench presses and noticed a pain in my right shoulder. The pain increased at the bottom of the movement and was irrespective of what part of the movement.

After this I broke off the work-out to experiment a little. I compared how well either side could hold the weights on the incline DB BP, and found that the pain was only in the right shoulder while the left had only a normal muscle tension.

After this I tried several light lateral holds (DB held out like at the end of a lateral raise). Here I noticed that the right shoulder had a pain “under” the “top” of the shoulder. This was with loads that only caused a light muscular tension in the left arm.

Then I tried various iso-metric holds against things (Finally a use for machines :slight_smile: ) The only one where there was a pain was the isometric lateral raise, both at the bottom and top of the movement.