Joining a Fraternity

Hey guys,

Im a freshman at Florida State University and am debating whether or not to join a fraternity. I was wondering who has joined one and what they have to say about it.

My second question about it is how i go about researching and getting info about the fraternity in general. it seems like whenever i go on a website ranking fraternities, the comments are either “OMG they throw the best parties i love the guys in this fraternity” or “there’s more wood in this fraternity than home depot”

Does anyone know where i can get unbiased (or at least less biased than the above two comments) information about the frats here?

I was one semester on the mexican division of DECA, by Delta Epsilon Chi. I guess it depends on the area of knowledge you wanna develop.

Enormous waste of time and money. There used to be some that were prestigious and worthwhile, and they would actually impress potential employers. Now, most of them are excuses to party endlessly. I know of three local employers that refuse to hire anyone associated with a fraternity.

i joined a fraternity at michigan state, sigma pi, and thought it was a great decision. as for fsu i do not really know if it is predominantly a greek school or not. either way you will have fun, but they are a great way to meet people and make connections.

I just went to different parties at different fraternities and during rush week go to as many as possible and just talk with the guys and see who you like the most and who you will get along fit in with. same interests etc.

Also talking to people you know on campus may have good input. Other than that just get out there and try to meet people and see what works for you. Good luck. I hope this helped.

[quote]Xab wrote: