T Nation

Joined Wrestling

The Wednesday of last week, I joined wrestling. As I was too small to go for the 189 lb class from losing to much weight due to football (only about 5, but it still mattered), I decided to wrestle in the 171 class.

This is my first year, but since the other 171 lbs wrestler (we only had two in our weight class) couldn't make it, I an now officially starting varsity. I am extremely nervous.

Although I did pin a kid 20 lbs heavier than me today during a mock match, I still have a lot of doubt as if I am going to actually make it. The coaches will move other kids around every now and then though.

I am posting this for no other reason then I felt like I needed to share, so for all six of you that know who I am, I unfortunately will not be gaining weight until the beginning of March. I will still lift, but getting bigger is kind of out of the option.

I do miss eating a lot already.

I went from football to wrestling my senior year too. It was a lot of fun, made me wish I had started years before.

1) You will get your ass kicked a few times this year by guys you would look at and think you'd destroy.

2) You will find that football conditioning is really easy relative to what wrestlers have to do.

3) You will learn how long 6 minutes really is.

Man, I wish my high school had athletics.

Go get'em, tiger.

If there is one thing I learned about wrestling is weight can be overcome my Jr. adn Sr. years I wrestled at 189 with a body weight of 160, I havd to drink enough water to break 171 so I could qualify but with I was faster and due to not having to cut weight as strong or stronger than a lot of my opponents, my coaches even took me out for dinner the night before to try to fattten me up.