John Berardi Question-insulin sensitizers

In your recent column “Appetite for Construction” you recommended ALA, fish oils, glucosol (colosolic acid and inzitol (d-pintol). Why did you choose the glucosol and inzitol and how do they compare to other insulin sensitizers? I am a physician who has used (in addition to ALA and fish oil)chromium, biotin, vanadium and gymnema sylvestre(sp?) with diabetic pts. Cy Willson in his previous column “The Taming of Insulin” also recommended taurine, bitter melon, epicatechin and Quercetin.

Also, why do you recommend taking the ALA, glucosol, and inzitol during separate carbohydrate meals? One can argue that the ALA should be taken divided throughout the day since it is an antioxidant and its half life is only about a half hour.

Thanks for your time.

John, I am also very interested in these insulin sensitizing supplements, and would be very interested to hear a response to this question. Also, what do you think of using soluable fibers such as gar gum to incerease insulin sensitivity. Also, in regards to cardio and increasing insulin sensitivity, what is the min amount of time required to elicit the increased insulin senstivity response, and are mutiple cardio sessions a day acceptable if the minimal amount of cardio time is used?? Thanks!!

I’ll bump this for ya JB, since you haven’t been around to see it lately. I think this is a very interesting topic!!