Jobs and Results

Lets start a thread about what we do in our daily jobs and how it helps or hinders our results to our goals we are trying to achieve.

I work on a vinyl siding/gutter crew. Anyone else do the same? I am the cut man (aka the goffer). I move around tons in a everyday always walked picking up ladders and walkboards. My goal for now is to build muscle and i believe this jobs has it benefits and its negatives.

Im glad I’m only a college student who dont plan to do this the rest of my life, but its a good job especially for someone who’s goal is fatloss.

What do some of you other guys/gals do?

I’m Hack Wilson’s accountant and PR man.

I’m sure you can imagine my work and stress load.

About a month ago I started a job as a commercial refrigeration tech. We have been doing a gigantic new installation job for a warehouse/wholesale outlet.

We have been installing the copper lines that vary in diameter from 1/2 inch to 2&5/8 (o.d.)@ 20 ft. lengths in to the uni-strut racks that hang from the trusses. Tons of overhead lifting and moving of the lines has been very good for the shoulders.

Ceiling mounting the evaporators of the cold rooms has been a lot of wrenching and good for the wrists.

Cranking out 10 to 12 hour days has inhibited lifting, down to twice a week, but I have managed to put on five lbs. of solid gains in the past month.

A couple of heavy labor jobs that I’ve had combined with lifting were over the top though. Even at 5-6 thousand calories a day, I was chronicaly fatigued and could hardly gain an ounce.

I work data support for the largest US wireless carrier. I sit in a cubicle for 10 hours a day (soon to be eight) in front of a computer. I can feel the effects of inactivity.

when i was doing more active work, such as working in a garden centre, pulling skids and stuff, it kept me in much better shape. there are so many obese people that i work with, it’s hard to believe. And i don’t mean just overweight, but seriously obese.