T Nation

Jobless Sue for Discrimination?

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/obama-proposes-letting-jobless-sue-discrimination-191042168.html

Seriously, what's wrong with our President?

He's actually Wesley Mouch.

EDIT: Actually, not Mouch. Thompson.

Wow. I should go collect my max unemployment benefits, THEN go screw up an interview at McDonalds and sue them. Figures a Lawyer with Zero business experience does nothing to mitigate the already absurd amount of tort law in this country while providing absolutely no economic benefit to anyone. clown.

And for what it is worth I was unemployed for 6 months. I took a job that was 80 miles round trip and paid less than 30k a year. Then i continued to apply for jobs after that. Eventually, things got better.

lol wtf. if this goes through and I'm a hiring manager, resumes of those who are unemployed are going straight into the waste basket.

You should look for injured veterans who have been unemployed for ~5 months to interview. Hire them at the 6 month mark and lay them off after 6 months. You will be making a profit even if they do nothing. you could even tell them they can work from home or something similar where you wouldn't need to supply them with any capital, etc...

Yeah that's what I thought. This could actually massively backfire and result in unemployed people finding it even harder to get jobs.

No "Could" about it. When you create moral hazard there is ALWAYS unintended consequences. The laws of supply and demand don't change just because the price isn't in terms of dollars but in terms of risk of a law suit instead.

And, then you get sued and fired. Or, you can say that they weren't hired for lack of experience in a specific field.

Or, my favorite...didn't fit the company environment.

exactly. if I never interview them based on the fact that I have other candidates with better looking resumes (those aren't controlled documents so can be modified at will if shtf) they can't do jack shit.