T Nation

Job Outlook for Recent Graduates

About 6 months ago, I earned my Masters in Environmental Science and still can’t find a job. Not even lab or field technician. Only three interviews.

How are the rest of you recent grads doing on this front and if you’re did well how’d you do it?

[quote]Fletch1986 wrote:
About 6 months ago, I earned my Masters in Environmental Science and still can’t find a job. Not even lab or field technician. Only three interviews.

How are the rest of you recent grads doing on this front and if you’re did well how’d you do it?[/quote]

Have you tried LOL?

No I don’t mean laughing out loud, that would be stupid. I mean Land O’Lakes. They usually have field tech positions posted.

[quote]on edge wrote:

[quote]Fletch1986 wrote:

How are the rest of you recent grads doing on this front and if you’re did well how’d you do it?[/quote]

Have you tried LOL?

No I don’t mean laughing out loud, that would be stupid. I mean Land O’Lakes. They usually have field tech positions posted.[/quote]

Right after I read your first sentence I was about to E-slap you lol. But I’ll make sure I keep an eye on them along with some of the other companies that keep popping up in my job search.

What do ya’ll think of career websites like Monster and CareerBuilder?

Your reliance on those sites is making it harder for you.

Now I know the USa is much larger than the UK but the sites we have are just big advertisement machines with jobs that nobody ever goes for, are scams, dont exist or are applied for by thousands of people.

Graduate sites are just as bad for this.

I found that approaching individual companies sets you up to learn what they’re about, rather than just type out a typical covering letter and a CV for them to look at and then discard.

Look up companies that value volunteering (if it applies), do a bit and then come back. Its better than just an empty gap.